Comments Off on Selular Award : Phone of the Year is Nokia E7


On Wednesday night Global Selular Media Group, which publishes Selular Magazine, Handphone Tabloid, and dan Selular Online, held their annual event, Selular Award for the eighth time since 2004.

This event was held at Gran Melia Hotel Jakarta and aims to give appreciation for the mobile phone vendors and network operators in Indonesia.

Selular Award this time carried the tagline “Untuk Indonesiaku” (For My Indonesia) and was attended by the key people from the mobile industry in Indonesia. Director General of Post and Information Technology Implementation (PPI) Syukri Batubara also gave the opening speech.

The tagline was meant to point out that the cellular industry in Indonesia has become a critical part of the development of this nation. Nana J. Rahmat, General Manager of Selular Magazine and the Group Head of Global Selular Media (GSM) Group said, “In addition to being a place for the telecommunications industry to be able to share with each other, we expect Selular Award to become an integral part of the journey of the Indonesian telecommunications industry.”

There were 23 categories of awards given at this event. The winners in each category in this event were selected through voting via SMS. The total number of incoming text messages was 5127 from all over Indonesia. The panel at the Global Selular Media provides an assessment of products by using a standard assessment that has been measured and tested.


Nokia won various awards, including Phone Of The Year for its E7 (above). The category Operator of the Year was won by Telkomsel, which this year managed to reach 100 million subscribers in Indonesia. Meanwhile, President Director of XL Axiata, Hasnul Suhaimi, won the CEO of the Year. XL Axiata also won the Best BlackBerry Service.

Here is the list of categories and the winners at the Selular Awards 2011:

  • Best Camera Phone : Sony Erricson Xperia Arc
  • Best Design Phone : Nokia C7
  • Best Music Phone : Nokia X5
  • Most Valuable Phone : HT Mobile M18
  • Best Marketing Program : Axis
  • Best Mobile Data Service for GSM: Axis
  • Best Mobile Data Service for CDMA: Smartfren
  • Best Costumer Care: Telkomsel
  • Best Bundling Program: Esia EA Games
  • Best Mobile Office Phone: Nokia E7
  • Best Android Phone: LG Optimus 2X
  • Local Brand Phone: HT Mobile
  • Best Tablet Computing: Samsung Galaxy Tab
  • Best Messaging Phone: Blackberry Bold 9780
  • Best GSM Operator: Telkomsel
  • Best CDMA Operator: Telkom Flexi
  • Best CSR Program: IWIC Indosat
  • Best Blackberry Service: XL
  • Best Multi SIM Card Phone: Micxon CX5
  • Most Innovative Product: Smartfren Local Plus
  • Phone of the Year Nokia E7
  • Operator of the Year: Telkomsel
  • CEO of the Year: Presiden Direktur XL Axiata : Hasnul Suhaimi

Courtesy : Techinasia